top of page
Search
  • juliano4fun

♪Blame it on my own sick pride, Blame it on my ADD baby♪ November 2020 update!


SAIL!

This is how I show my love.

I made it in my mind because

I blame it on my ADD baby.






After a satisfying poker month of October, I kept the momentum going in November, grinding my ass off as I totaled 25 evening sessions in November!

This is an insane number since I'm also working fulltime in a pretty demanding job and taking care of some of the household chores. As my session are played between 7pm and 2am, it does mean that I had a lot of days where i was completely exhausted and had to autopilot work on redbull.




Luckily for me, logging all these hours also resulted in by far my best poker month EVER!



To have an idea of a Sunday schedule:





First a selection of nice cashes, not more than a selection as I did pay 1 gazillion mtt's :




Big run in 350 player field:


One of the reasons I like Unibet so much is that the average tournament field is pretty small in general in comparison to other bigger sites with lots of regulars. Most tournaments only take around 5 hours from start to finish, which is perfect for my schedule as I try to go to bed around 2 am the latest.

But sometimes, there are some events that attract more people, this was such an event, a 5euro buyin 2500€ leaderboard tournament with 350 players.

These kind of tournaments are great value as it attracts a lot of recreational players and some regulars.


After battling for a few hours, I found myself in a very soft final table with recreational players to put it politely, so I was pleased to see that i had a decent chance to win the tournament.


the best example of the softness is this hand on the final table .. I didn't realize 45s is a good spot to punt 35bb blind versus blind when 3bet lol


Anyway, fast forward to the hand that got me Heads-Up:



The heads-up game was very much in my favor as I found a pretty passive opponent that didn't adjust correctly to my aggressive play..



..which netted me a nice win!




Coming from this win, I now had time to start my grind for the UnibetOnlineSeries X event, a tournament series that take place on Unibet every few months.

To prepare for this, i played a lot of satellites and did really well in them :




For this UOS series, I was very excited to be able to play some tournaments above my average buyin range, I saw it as an opportunity to see how games play at the midstakes.


I started the serie with a bang, getting close to final tables in a few events and also finishing 2nd in a UOS low event:




..and getting megadeep in a 2days 25€ event, but finishing 5th after this heartbreaking runout vs the chipleader:





Top 3 would have been epic but it is what it is, and I can't complain getting this deep in a big 422 player midstake tournament.


Getting this 2 score early in the series ment that I could now relax and see what the rest of the series would bring, but during the remaining of November, I ran pretty poorly, unable to run a stack up, or getting my stacks smashed in lots of coolers and bad beats.

As I never managed to turn the downswing around, I ended November being a bit up in the series but feeling saddened as the potential was enormous..


BUT as it goes, I did manage to get my BIGGEST WIN EVER outside the UOS series after securing a 3rd place in a HUGE 10.000$ guaranteed tournament with 1056 players!








So YES, November was good to me as I secured my biggest month ever, these amounts still feel unreal to me 9 months after deciding to give tournaments a go.



GOALS NOVEMBER/DECEMBER

- 6 study sessions of at least 4 hours on learnpropoker

- analyse at least 15 hands in depth

- review the high stakes bounty tournament session from egption

- Get back into sports routine and lose weight ( the new lockdown had all my sport activities canceled..)

-keep a low table count when playing ( between 4 and 6)


Looking back at the goals i had for November/December, I'm also pleased that i finally picked up studying as I did 3 study sessions in which I reevaluated my ranges for 100bb stacks and 40bb stacks. I also managed to review 3 hands that I had saved during past months using ICMizer to try to get a better grasp of my calling range versus different stacksizes and positions.

Still lots to go about but I plan to take a week off after the UOS series ends ( dec 13th) to focus on studying as I had a chance to realize that some midstakes regs really know how to apply pressure in the lategame, resulting in me overfolding in some spots.


i did however fail on the getting back to sports part but this will bemy priority when UOS X ends and I can back to a milder grind routine.


next update will be in 2021 and I will see if I can reflect on my first year of MTT poker :-)


J'out


25 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page